How To: Study When You Don’t Want To

Hey everyone!

 

I have a few simple steps to trick myself into studying when I have absolutely no motivation to do so. When it comes to hitting the books, it’s important to remember that it’s better to get it over with right away, so you don’t have to worry about it as the week goes on. Let me start by saying I am in no way, shape, or form, an organized person. My roommate writes my calendar out, I never go anywhere without my planner, and I constantly leave myself reminders in my phone. That’s the trick though, you learn the best ways to keep yourself on track, and stick to it. It’s okay if you aren’t really sure what type of studier you are- just try a little bit of everything and see what sticks!

#1- Get some study snacks.

healthysnacks

Personally, I can’t study without some snacks. I get distracted and soon find myself unable to focus on anything except the fact that I am currently snack-less. So, before you start with anything, grab some snacks to tide you over until you can get a real meal. On a side note- this is a great way to start eating healthier! Snack on some baby carrots or snag a cheese stick while you work.

#2- Get comfy.

sweatpantsmeangirls

If I’m super uncomfortable, whether it’s what I’m wearing or where I’m sitting, I find it hard to focus on what I’m doing. So, put on some sweatpants and plop down on your futon to achieve the maximum comfort level. I take up the entire futon when I’m studying, but luckily my roommate is aware of this and accepts it. If you find that you work best at your desk, great! It can sometimes be easier to focus on the task at hand if you are at a desk.

#3- Go to the bathroom before you start studying.

White toilet bowl in a bathroom

Honestly, I wish I were kidding. The amount of times I’ve gotten all situated, ready to study, only to have to get up and go to the bathroom is unreal. You don’t want to get in the study zone and then have to go to the bathroom and break your streak. Seriously, take care of your business and then you can focus on getting down to business.

#4- Find your background noise jam.

backgroundnoisejam

Unless, of course, you are the type of person that can’t have anything on in the background. If that’s the case- then I commend you. I have to have something on in the background, whether it be the TV, music, or even my roommate’s latest Netflix obsession (which is currently Jane the Virgin). Just something. When I need to really focus on homework or test preparation, I find that string quartets help me keep focused, but that’s just me. There are some great study playlists on Spotify and Youtube- find one you like and give it a go.

#5- Have all your materials ready to go.

materials

Honestly, there’s been more than a few cases where I will be trying to study and I realize I’d forgotten about one specific sheet I needed so I’d have to get up, try and find it, sit down, realize that I grabbed the wrong sheet, get up, and try to find the correct one. It’s much easier to avoid all of this unnecessary exercise if you have all of your stuff without before you start studying.

That’s all I’ve got for you, but my overall advice would just be to figure out what helps you and stick to it. If you aren’t sure, then just try out a couple of different options and find which one works for you. Best of luck with your studies!

 

-Emilie

One thought on “How To: Study When You Don’t Want To

  1. Studying has always been such a frenemy for me.. Seriously don’t know how I passed tests in Highschool. Like I don’t remember studying. I honestly get so bored. Since classes started here, I have learned new ways of studying and obtaining the information.. Some successful some not so much. Thanks for these helpful tips.. I will have to test them out!

Leave a Reply

