DORM ROOM RECIPES: Cold Brew Coffee

Spring has come, but it’s still a bit chilly. This doesn’t deter me from making my favorite warm weather drink: cold brew coffee. I refuse to believe it will snow or get cold again, so maybe if I just act like it’s warm, it will be warm (and stay that way). This spring break gave me some free time to make some! I thought I’d share my process of how to make it with you guys, because when I lived in the dorms, I loved making it because of how easy it was.

I know the dorms are cramped, a functional kitchen is all the way in the basement, and you just want some energy for the last couple months of class. I feel you. Really, I do. That’s why I’m here. This recipe is completely dorm-room safe and is actually just a really easy recipe. I know you can ace this.

Let’s make some cold brew.

What you’ll need:
Pitcher
Large Mason jar
4 cups water
1 & 1/3 cups of dark-roast coffee grounds
Cheese cloth
Measuring cups
Mixing spoon (or similar utensil)
Rubber band(s)

IMG_9257

Gather the pitcher and coffee grounds. The pitcher is from Walmart and the coffee is from Aldi. Second, measure out 1 and 1/3 cups of coffee grounds and dump ’em in the pitcher. Pretty easy, huh?

IMG_9258

Measure out 4 cups of cold or room temp water and pour it onto the grounds. Stir. It’ll look super gross and like dirt, but don’t be fooled. This is just the caterpillar about to emerge into a beautiful butterfly.

IMG_9259

Mmmmm, dirt…..

Seal it and let it sit overnight to “brew.” Leave it sit at room temperature. Lets be real, a pitcher wouldn’t fit in those tiny fridges anyway.

IMG_9261

I had to put saran wrap in mine to seal it because my lid has a hole from the mixer thing that goes in the middle. Just make sure your pitcher is tightly sealed while the coffee is brewing.

After you’ve waited up all night to finish the recipe, scoop as much grounds out as you can with a spoon or whatever you have available. This will make the straining process go much faster.

IMG_9271

Now you need the Mason jar and cheese cloth. You can get cheese cloth at Big Lots (where I got mine) or Marketplace. Probably Walmart, but I’ve never gotten any from there. The jars are sold almost everywhere.

IMG_9270

Strap on the cheese cloth to the jar with the rubber bands. Make sure you have about 4 or 5 layers of cloth for it to strain through. Still with me?

IMG_9272

YOU’RE READY TO STRAIN! POUR THAT LIQUID GOLD INTO THE CHEESE CLOTH. The beautiful butterfly of energy is so close to breaking its chrysalis.  This step require patience because you can’t pour it all at once because you won’t have gotten all the grounds out, so they’ll slow down the process a little. But do not despair, you are so close to the finish line.

IMG_9273

IT’S READY.

It’s time to take off the cheese cloth and squeeze any excess juice into the jar. The great thing about cheese cloth is that you can rinse it out and use it again! It might end up being a little grimy with grounds, but it’s fine if you only use it for cold brewing.

IMG_9275

 IMPORTANT:

VOILA! Finished. Now… this is CONCENTRATE. This means that you don’t want to drink this straight. You’re going to want to ration it. I like a 1:1 ratio, but if you don’t like so strong,
I’d say go for a 2:1 ratio (1/3 coffee, 2/3 water). You will obviously need ice, so it’s smart to pour it over ice so your rations aren’t off and you won’t make a mess.

My favorite ways of sweetening this is plain ‘ol creamer. Try vanilla or hazelnut. You could even buy some flavored syrup if you don’t like creamy coffee drinks (I live for them). You can get these nearly anywhere that has milk.

Enjoy, folks!

IMG_9276

-Rach

Leave a Reply

