STOUTESTIMONY: Kelsey K.

Meet Kelsey Kuehl.

DSC_0056

I interviewed her about her experience in the art school and what her experience has been as she nears graduation in December (after a semester of student teaching). I visited her in her studio on the first floor of Applied Arts (APPA) and she showed me her current work for her senior show coming up in May. She gives us insight into the life of an art student, as well as some sentimental moments from her college career.

DSC_0052

S&A: What’s your major?

KELSEY: Art Education with an emphasis in Ceramics.

DSC_0062

S&A: Where are you from?

KELSEY: I’m from DeForest, WI, a small town near Madison, WI.

DSC_0053

S&A: What made you or helped you finalize this major?

KELSEY: After a year and a half in Graphic Design, I realized that I wasn’t fit for the major, and went on for a half a year trying to find something else. I had a bunch of art credits, so I decided to seek something within art to major in. Art Education was the only thing aside from Graphic Design that seemed okay, so I decided to give it a shot. I fell in love with it immediately. I decided to concentrate in Ceramics because I love being able to create an array of sculptural work using different types of clay.

DSC_0055

S&A: How did you find Stout?

KELSEY: I found out about Stout from someone I was close to at the time, who was planning to attend the university. After looking into it, I found that they had a program in Graphic Design, which I had originally planned to major in. After touring the university, I fell in love with the program, the facilities, and the campus.

DSC_0071

S&A: What has been your favorite thing about Stout?

KELSEY: My favorite thing about Stout is its dedication to providing quality education, particularly in the Art and Education departments.

S&A: What professor has had the biggest impact on you and why?

KELSEY: I’ve had a few professors who have really impacted me in equal ways, but if I have to choose one, I’d choose the program director of the Art Education program, Dr. Tami Weiss. She has continued to encourage me in my pursuit of a degree in Art Education. She has provided me with so much advice and support and has helped me to be where I am today as an aspiring educator. I also appreciate how passionate and caring she is for both the program as well as the students studying Art Education. She puts in so much hard work into the program, and the students that come out of it are prepared and dedicated.

DSC_0075

S&A: What’s your favorite movie?

KELSEY: This is a tough one, as I have many favorite movies, but if I had to choose one, it would probably be The Shawshank Redemption. I love the storyline, the characters, and the actors who play them. It’s quite well-rounded.

S&A: Where do you spend most of your time on campus?

KELSEY: I spend most of my time in the Ceramics lab on campus. I spend so much time there that I may as well just live there. For real though.

DSC_0059

S&A: Do you have any advice for incoming freshman or students in general?

KELSEY: Be open to new ideas and opportunities. Get involved and don’t be afraid to try new things. Work hard and set reachable goals. Don’t procrastinate!

S&A: Advice for art students?

KELSEY: Learn good time management NOW. Seriously, there’s so much more work that goes into your projects, and you cannot afford to slack off. Learn how to pace yourself. Also, I don’t recommend taking more than 3 studios per semester, especially if you want to have a social life. Art takes a lot of time in and outside of the classroom, and if you are taking multiple studios, then prepare to spend all your time in a studio.

DSC_0054

S&A: What was the most embarrassing thing to happen to you in college?

KELSEY: There are a plethora, I’m sure, but one particular experience was when I was the student leader of Street Level Ministries, and I was giving announcements, and instead of informing the audience about something coming up by saying, “That will be under way,” I said, ” That will be under ropes.” I have a way with words, you could say…

DSC_0065

S&A: If you could describe your college experience in three separate words, what would they be?

KELSEY: Challenging. Fast-paced. Memorable.

-Rach

Leave a Reply

