8 Tips on How to Survive Design Senior Show

*Hi! I’m Rachel Hallgrimson! I’m the new writer for this wonderful piece of the blogosphere, Stout and About. Check out my bio page to know more about me! Stay tuned for posts every week on what it’s like to be a Stoutie.*

This past Friday, I attended the winter Design Senior Show, held in the Applied Arts building. I think everyone should attend at least one senior show while they attend Stout, but there are a few things that everyone should know before they make the trip. I am here to help you through this, so don’t lose hope yet! Here is how to survive senior show…

NatalieTip #1: Leave your coat at home. Before you might think, “Oh my! It’s 15 degrees out! I better bundle up,” think again. It gets very toasty in the rooms with the presentations. My dear friend Natalie made this mistake. The Industrial Design room (above) is always the warmest. You have been warned.

ice cream

Tip #2: I recommend getting a “Lil Shiver” from Brew Devils in the MSC beforehand. I know I talk about snacks later, but these are equivalent to Blizzards, but are only $1.99.
-insert angel chorus here-

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Tip #3: Check out the Graphic Design shows first. I like checking these ones out first because most of the shows have little souvenirs, like buttons, stickers, etc. and they are FREE. But only while supplies last…so get in there first to get all the goodies. And of course, give the designers a little credit by asking them for their spiel on their project. There is never one that isn’t really creative and awesome.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

My good friend Brittany’s display for her project, “Borderless.”

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

It’s a company that’s web-based and helps churches plan effective and time-efficient trips to anywhere in the world.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

It would be used primarily on one’s smartphone. Pretty neat, huh?

FriendsTip #4: Go with friends. Going alone can get you in and out quick, but this is an event to really absorb all the creativity and talent that’s on display! As a writer, I like to soak in as much visual wonder as I can! This tip also gives you an excuse to hang out with that friend you’ve been meaning to catch up with!

FoodTip #5: Eat a light dinner. There are LOTS of hors d’oeuvres for your snacking pleasure. This picture doesn’t show the splendor of it, but that’s because I got to this room a little later in the evening. Snacks, snacks for everyone!

nteractiveTip #6: If you get there on time, SEE THE ENTERTAINMENT DESIGN PROJECTS! In room 210 of Applied Arts, they play all of the shorts/movies that people made for their senior show. I didn’t make it on time, so I took a picture of one of their tables outside the Furlong Gallery.

If you pick up treats along the way, guard them fiercely.

If you pick up treats along the way, guard them fiercely.

IDTip #7: Check out the Industrial Design show. Remember when I mentioned this earlier? This is what it looks like above the heads of all the curious people. It’s probably the most intriguing because there are physical objects you can TOUCH. This year, a guy made a watch that, in theory, would be a navigation device for the blind, and a girl designed a chair that would be effective in supporting posture while playing a musical instrument.

Cup

DRINK WATER. It gets hot, but it’s also pretty dry in there. There’s refreshments in most of the rooms, too.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

You’re probably going to run into other friends while you’re there, so take those conversations to the hallway. It’s less crowded and (sort of) quieter.

Tip #8: Interior Design sale is next. The Bobby Box one was my favorite because I am always losing bobby pins.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

This next group of pictures encompasses my favorite part of the night….

wood

“Wood cuts” are what these magical pieces of art are called. You coat the stamp-like side with ink.

This is the press that the shirt and wood block go through. Our trusty printer did a swell job for my friends and me.

This is the press that the shirt and wood block go through. Our trusty printer did a swell job for my friends and me.

presshandsPRess

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Tip #9: The print room, located on second floor, usually has shirts for purchase and then you can pick out what woodblock you’d like on it, and it’s only 10 bucks! Talk about a great Christmas gift under the price limit you and your roommates discussed…

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

That’s Natalie and me after we got out shirts, and we are very happy. You will be too, I promise.

End So, we have come to the end of the night, and we have all survived Senior Show. We saw some crazy things, ate some delectable cheese and crackers, bought some hand-printed shirts that support our wonderful art department, and bought some art prints (which I forgot to document, but check out the sale room on the first floor for that!). I always love going to these because it allows me to observe how talented and creative many of my friends and peers are. They’re never too far away on this campus! Thanks for sticking with me through this, and see you at the Spring Senior Show next year!

-Rach

One thought on “8 Tips on How to Survive Design Senior Show

Leave a Reply

