Devil’s Punch Bowl

This year I made the decision to stay in Menomonie over our long “Winterm” break. I planned on occupying my time with work, Netflix, and spending time with whoever happened to still be around Stout for the month. However, I was still a little nervous about getting bored over break; how much is there to do in Menomonie in the middle of winter? After a VERY chilly week of subzero temperatures and jump-starts, a day in the mid-30’s seemed almost like summer. I took that opportunity to explore Menomonie and really see what it had to offer during the winter months. One of my best memories of that day was a short trip to The Devil’s Punchbowl. The Devil’s Punchbowl located about 5-10 minutes away from Stout, and even the drive there was beautiful; the winding, scenic back-road along the Red Cedar River would almost be a whole trip in itself.

GetFileAttachment-1
I had always heard that the Punchbowl was a great place to visit in the winter, but I really never realized why until I got there. The huge natural rock formation is an impressive sight in itself, but the small waterfalls covered the rocks in huge ice formations that are definitely something worth a picture or five. My friend and I ended up exploring this hidden gem of Menomonie for over an hour, climbing (and falling) all over the ice, rocks, and hills that surrounded. Of course, many pictures were taken, Instagrammed, Snapchatted, and Facebooked to show off the natural beauty of this Menomonie destination.
GetFileAttachment-2
So, if you’re looking for something to do during these long snowy months, I would highly recommend making the short trip to The Devil’s Punchbowl! I wish everyone a great winter break, and I’ll see you all in a couple weeks!

Leave a Reply

